The new law targeting uninsured drivers in Oklahoma took effect on November 1, 2013
When it comes to uninsured motorists, Oklahoma isn't doing so well. Despite the fact that there was already a state law that mandates basic liability insurance for all drivers, still 25% of Oklahoma motorists lack insurance coverage. This is the forth highest rate of uninsured motorists in the United States, according to the Insurance Research Council as of September 2013.
To help reduce this trend a new law (47 O.S. 7-621) is now in effect and will allow officers to take the vehicles license plate and replace it with a temporary tag. The Sheriffs office will hold the tag until the offender purchases insurance and pays all fines and fees. From the time the tag is removed until the owner buys insurance or a maximum of 10 working days, the vehicle is automatically covered with a statewide temporary insurance policy. The owner pays for the temporary insurance at the Sheriffs office when they retrieve their tag.
If the owner fails to comply and allows the temporary tag to expire they are subject to an additional $750 fine or imprisonment for not more that 30 days or both; and subject to suspension of their driving privileges; and the vehicle can be impounded by having it towed & stored until proof of insurance is shown and all fines are paid.
State leaders are optimistic that this will help curb the economic hardship this creates for those involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. Louisiana enacted a similar law that greatly reduced their number of uninsured drivers, so state officials are hopeful this will do the same for Oklahoma as well.